We live in Washington.  If you’ve never made it out this way I recommend it.  The beautiful mountains, the ocean, the dense magical forest, and there’s something else you may have heard about our wonderful Washington State…oh yeah it RAINS.  ALL THE TIME.  I don’t mind the rain, I’ve grown up in it.  Honestly I didn’t even realize it rained this much until I went off to college to a state where it didn’t rain every day.  Well, now I’m back and had once again gotten used to the rain.  What I was not used to was

RAIN+CHICKENS=WET UNHAPPY CHICKENS

Well, the kids and I worked on something today and here it is!

DSC_0143

Bella and Bubba shovel some ashes into the new chicken bathtub.

DSC_0145

Add some dirt…

DSC_0146

mix it up

DSC_0148

mix it a little more…

DSC_0149

let baby loose in the chicken yard… (he was so happy, the chickens…not so much)

DSC_0150

apparently kids like dirt baths too.

DSC_0151

a lot.

DSC_0153

the girls weren’t too sure about it, but I hope they’ll like it…if it ever stops raining long enough for me to open it up for them.

DSC_0156

then again, if it didn’t rain so much baby couldn’t spend fifteen minutes throwing rocks into the ocean…or gravel into the driveway puddle…

On a side note, the have a heart trap has managed to catch a squirrel, a chicken, and the neighbor’s cat.   However, it has yet to catch a raccoon.  Maybe it’s hiding to stay out of the rain.

