and not because he isn’t beautiful and awesome, because he is both of those things.

Get a load of this handsome guy.

Get a load of this handsome guy.

It is because my husband recalls a conversation he had last year with one of our neighbors and how upset she was over the crowing of a rooster, not ours mind you. Although she’s given us the go ahead for 1-2 weeks. He’s sure that her kind-heartedness will not last much longer than that. As we intend to live here for most of our adult lives, we’d rather keep up good relations with the neighbors.

DSC_0561

He gets along well with the ladies.

DSC_0563

yes those are fruit loops in the background…left over from breakfast…alright they’re not fruit loops they’re imitation fruit loops.

In fact ever since his arrival less than a week ago our hens have been behaving themselves. No one is pulling butt feathers out of anyone else. (This has been quite the problem which I understand you’re now reading about for the first time, as the post I started on the subject never got posted….but I have several bald-butted chickens right now)

Our original plan of keeping Buffy for a week or two and hoping to get some fertilized eggs for baby chicks and then eating him was a nice plan. But maybe not the best plan. We’ve floated the idea to my in-laws (who are looking at starting a backyard flock of our own, yes I am that inspirational) of them taking Buffy and several of our hens and for us to keep a few hens and the chicks. They’ve got a week to think about it (and build a coop or temporary shelter) or it’s the dinner table for Master Buffy. On the subject of fertilization, I’ve cracked one fertile egg (yesterday) and once I crack two more I think we’ll leave them to brood. I like the idea of handling the chicks as I did before, but we’ll see if Mama (whoever that ends up being) is going to beat the crap out of me if I try it.

DSC_0566

See ya later Buffy…